top of page


Glin Rovers was founded in 1968 by Jimmy Cunningham RIP, Willie Culhane, Liam Culhane, John Culhane, Tommy Wallace, Tom Scanlon, Michael Sweeney, Dubby Martin, Neil Fitzgerald, Noel Fitzgerald, Dermot Fitzgerald, Thomas Fitzgerald, Maurice Fitzgerald, Pat Fitzmaurice, Donnie O’Connor, Gary O’Shaughnessy, Thomas O’Shaughnessy, Mick Costello, Joe Martin, James Dore, Patrick Shanahan and Connor Sheehan.

From humbling beginning fielding just 1 team from a £300 church gate collection Glin Rovers now fields 12 teams at a running cost of €22,000 per annum. We acquired our own field in 1987 and since then we have spent €275,000 in developing the pitch, stand, dressing room and boundary wall. 

Amongst our clubs greatest honours was winning the Desmond Cup on 3 occasions. The first was in 1977 then again in 2009 and most recently 2016. We have also won the Desmond League for the first and only time in 1986.

10 Facts about Glin Rovers FC

Club Crest: The club's roots began at the site of an Oak Tree in the village of Glin in 1968. The Oak Tree has been ever present on the club crest since 1968.
The Club's first Sponsor: was "McLoughlin's Bar". The club's link with the McLoughlin family continues with current "A" manager, Michael McLoughlin.
Glin Rovers F.C. have had the following capped for Ireland in their respective sports: 
Soccer - Mairead Sheehan & Tommy Culhane (Irish Defence Forces).
Rugby - Paul Culhane, Phillip Danaher & Eric Moloney.
Tennis - Mark "Faldo" Byrne.
On 2nd May 2008 five brothers from the Culhane Family, Glin lined out for Glin Rovers V Abbey Utd. Those five were, John A, Tadhg, Tommy, Ray & Gary Culhane.
First Goal Scorers: Junior Men's - James Dore V Villa Rovers & Ladies - Claire Wallace V Carrig Celtic.
The club's leading individual goal scorer in a match is Connor Sheehan who scored 6 times against Listowel Celtic in a Munster Junior Cup game. Noel Wallace scored 5 goals in a youths game v Villa Rovers.
The Youngest Player to play for our Junior sides was Seanie Culhane (14 years of age) and the oldest player to play for our Junior sides was Mickie Costello (42 years old).
Six Glin Rovers Players have played League Of Ireland Soccer. The six are: Michael McLoughlin, John McNamara, Mick Mackey, David Wall, Sheagh O Connor (U17) and Karl O'Sullivan (U17).
National G.A.A. Honours: Shane Enright has won 1 All Ireland Senior Football medal for Kerry (2014) & a GAA All Star Award (2015) & Dympna O Brien (Limerick) has won 1 Ladies Junior All Ireland Medal (2010) & A Division 4 NFL medal with Limerick in 201. Dympna also won an All Star in 2006.
Limerick Desmond League Player of the Year:
Liam Long and Ger Lyons won this award in the 1997/98 and 20007/07 seasons respectively 
Special thanks to Trish Normile, our club historian, for compiling the club info
bottom of page